People make mistakes.
It’s important to acknowledge that fact first and foremost.
Sometimes, people make the critical mistake of driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Being caught for such an act can lead to a DUI charge, which in the state of Florida can have serious ramifications on your personal record and more.
However, getting arrested for a DUI doesn’t have to be the end of the world. In fact, with the help of a competent, trustworthy defense attorney, it most likely won’t be.
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Port St. Lucie, Martin County, Indian River, or Okeechobee County, Florida, then contact the law office of Julia G. Baginski.
Our experienced DUI lawyer can go to work on your behalf to make sure you are properly defended even after you’ve made a mistake.
Read our blog to learn more about what to do after getting a DUI in Florida, and contact us today if you need help.
What Is A DUI
The first step towards fighting or reducing your charges is to understand exactly what a DUI charge means. Simply put, a DUI is when you’ve been proven to be physically impaired, with a blood-alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 or above.
In Florida, according to StateOfFlorida.com, the first DUI conviction carries a fine upwards of $2,000, though it can also be as low as $500. However, that changes if your BAC is higher than .15, which is nearly twice the legal limit. In that case, you could be facing a fine between $2,000 and $4,000.
For more serious cases, such as if a minor was involved or if there was an accident, you may face punishments like community service, probation, revocation of your driver’s license, and even imprisonment. All of these come at the discretion of the court, based on the severity of your charges. That’s why it’s critical that the first step you take is to hire a DUI lawyer who will work on your behalf to ensure fair and proper treatment throughout the duration of the case.
Plus, a DUI lawyer can certainly come in handy if you feel that you’ve been wrongly charged with a DUI, if this is your second or third offense, or if there were other people or factors involved.
However, in Florida it is absolutely critical that you act fast after you’ve been arrested.
The First 10 Days
In Florida, the first 10 days after your arrest are the most crucial. A criminal defense attorney can help discuss your options with you after your DUI charge, but it’s critical that you act quickly to hire one as you only have 10 days to apply for a hardship license and work permit.
Why is this important?
Well, a DUI charge can lead to an immediate suspension of your driver’s license, which would make it difficult, if not impossible, to drive to work each day.
Applying for a hardship license can ensure that you’re able to drive during the duration of the case, where you and your attorney can fight to have your license reinstated in certain cases.
If you don’t apply for a hardship, there’s a chance your license could be suspended immediately for anywhere between six and eight months.
Get Help Fast
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Port St. Lucie, then contact the defense attorney at Julia G. Baginski. With the high stakes, it’s important you have trustworthy counsel on your side. Don’t let a DUI ruin your life. Get the help you need today.